- Spring 1951—lot at the corner of Texas and Bellview streets was purchased from Jack and Junior Reynolds for $3,300
- June 1951—Earl Harvey appointed as first pastor
- January 6, 1952—first worship service in brand new sanctuary. One hundred and eight charter members were on the roll.
- Summer of 1953—new education building was erected
- June 1955—Jack McGee appointed second pastor. His wife started the first choir.
- 1962—new brick parsonage was purchased. It is located on Tate Street. The backyard joins church property.
- 1969—Shirley Methodist Church voted to discontinue services and move its membership to Wesley
- Spring 1971—new sanctuary was completed
- 1977—current education wing was built
- 1978—annual Fall Round Up started to raise funds to retire debt
- 1987—Wesley Hall was built
- 2010—Little Acorn School opened at Wesley
Pastors of Wesley
Ground breaking for Wesley Hall in 1986.
Current sanctuary in early years with unique rail surrounding pulpit.
Original sanctuary in 1950s.
Charter Members of Wesley:
Front Row: Etha Cromer, Bertie Minter, Mrs. Smith
Second Row: Mrs. Waters, Eva Miller, Ora Lovell, Mabel Tinney, Sam Tinney
Back Row: Mrs. Moore, Jack Huffstettler, Bonnie Huffstettler, Kathryn Minter, Ruthie Blount, Elvis Blount
Wesley Hall location prior to construction.
Live Nativity scene at the corner of Bellview and Texas streets in 1950s.